Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill

Friday, June 4 @ 8:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on Saturday, June 5, 2021 at 8:00 pm

One event on Sunday, June 6, 2021 at 3:00 pm

One event on Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 8:00 pm

One event on Friday, June 11, 2021 at 8:00 pm

One event on Saturday, June 12, 2021 at 8:00 pm

One event on Sunday, June 13, 2021 at 3:00 pm

One event on Thursday, June 17, 2021 at 8:00 pm

One event on Friday, June 18, 2021 at 8:00 pm

One event on Saturday, June 19, 2021 at 8:00 pm

One event on Sunday, June 20, 2021 at 3:00 pm

$30 – $35

Events

Trustus Theatre is back with safety measures in place! Located on Lady Street in the Congaree Vista, Trustus Theatre boasts two performing venues with the Thigpen Main Stage seating 132, and the Trustus Side Door Theatre seating 50. The underlying principal of Trustus has always been to bring the best of the newest and original plays, to an audience craving professional theatre in a setting that is comfortable and unique.

“Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill:” The time is 1959, in a smoky bar in Philadelphia. The audience is about to witness one of Billie Holiday’s last performances, given four months before her death. More than a dozen musical numbers — including “What a Moonlight Can Do,” “Crazy He Calls Me,” “Easy Living,” Strange Fruit,” “Taint Nobody’s Biz-ness If I Do,” and “God Bless the Child” — are interlaced with salty, sometimes humorous, reminiscences that project a riveting portrait of this unforgettable music icon. Over the course of the evening, the audience gets a firsthand account of Billie’s life, her music, and the battles she’s fought throughout her career.  Starring Trustus Company Member Katrina Garvin as Billie Holiday, under the direction of Trustus Company Emeritus Jocelyn Sanders, this show is a powerful piece that will stay with you long after you’ve left the theatre.

BY LANIE ROBERTSON
STARRING KATRINA GARVIN AS BILLIE HOLIDAY
DIRECTED BY JOCELYN SANDERS