Loading Events

SC Philharmonic · Tchaikovsky & Tangos at Koger Center at Koger Center

Friday, November 15 @ 7:30 pm


koger center for the arts university of south carolina

Turn up the heat on a fall evening with “Tchaikovsky & Tangos,” a concert that dances through a captivating lineup of music. The night kicks off with the lyrical charm of Amy Beach’s “Alla siciliana” from her Gaelic Symphony, setting a graceful and evocative mood. Then, get swept away by the fiery passion of Astor Piazzolla’s “Four Seasons of Buenos Aires,” arranged by Leonid Desyatnikov and featuring the electrifying violinist, and SCP Concertmaster, Mary Lee Taylor Kinosian. Finally, lose yourself in the emotional depth and dramatic intensity of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, “Pathetique.”

Program Overview:

Amy Beach: Alla siciliana from Gaelic Symphony, op. 32

Astor Piazzolla/Leonid Desyatnikov: Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

featuring Mary Lee Taylor Kinosian, violin

Piotr I. Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B Minor, op. 74, “Pathetique”